TAPE ART AUS BERLIN KREUZBERG

Wir sind Tape That, ein Künstlerkollektiv aus Berlin, das sich der Kunst mit Klebeband verschrieben hat. Unsere Arbeit erstreckt sich von minimalistischen schwarz-weiß Murals (Fassadengestaltung) bis hin zu komplexen, farbenfrohen Licht- und Videoinstallationen. Wir tapen bei Ausstellungen, in Gallerien, verlassenen Gebäuden, Clubs, Pop-Up Stores, Büros oder auch auf Events oder Messen. Gerade dadurch, das Tape es erlaubt den Raum in das Kunstwerk miteinzubeziehen, versuchen wir jedem unserer Kunstwerke einen einzigartigen Charakter zu verleihen. Wir sind von der Idee fasziniert aus einem alltäglichen Gegenstand, den die Meisten nicht weiter beachten, Kunst zu erschaffen. Auch wenn wir hauptsächlich von Berlin aus arbeiten, wirken wir in Projekten weltweit, um Tape Art als Begriff und eigene Kunstform zu etablieren.

WAS IST TAPE ART?

Wie sich bereits aufgrund des Begriffs vermuten lässt, kann Tape Art als eine Kunstform beschrieben werden, in der hauptsächlich mit Klebeband und verwandten Materialien gearbeitet wird. Auch wenn Klebeband schon fast immer als Hilfsmittel in diversen Kunstformen verwendet wurde, kann der Startschuss von Tape Art als eigene Kunstform nicht genau bestimmt werden. Tape hat erst kürzlich den Sprung zum eigenständigen Medium geschafft und sich vor allem in den letzten 10 Jahren einen Namen gemacht wächst momentan rasant. Die Entwicklung hin zu einer einer eigenen Form sich als Künstler Ausdruck zu verleihen, liegt vermutlich im Urban-Art Movement. Besonders die Möglichkeit Klebeband temporär einzusetzen und es wieder zu entfernen, stellen ein Alleinstellungsmerkmal dar. Es existieren nicht nur eine Vielzahl von unterschiedlichen Arten von Klebeband, sondern auch eine Vielzahl individueller Ansätze und Stile. Am meisten eingesetzt werden Gewebebänder, Papierbänder, Packbänder und Folien. In Abhängigkeit der Materialien haben sich somit bestimmte Stile – von abstrakt zu vollkommen realistisch– entwickelt.

Unsere Projekte reichen von freien Kunstwerken und Installationen über Auftragsarbeiten und interkulturellen Kunstaustausch bis hin zu Workshops. Freie Projekte umschließen einzelne Tape-Bilder, Rauminstallationen- und Skulpturen, Fassadengestaltung und Lichtinstallationen. Neben Live-Performances bei Events und Messen, stylen wir bei Auftragsarbeiten auch Locations oder Büros. Außerdem geben wir Tape Art Workshops und Teambuildings für Unternehmen. Um Tape Art in der Welt zu verbreiten, stellen wir weltweit unsere Werke aus, kleben Installationen und geben oftmals in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Goethe-Institut und der deutschen Botschaft Workshops für Schulen, Universitäten oder gemeinnützige Projekte.

Tape Art Berlin - Tape Art Convention
Tape Art Berlin - Tape Art around the world
Tape Art Workshop | Tape Art Academy

TAPE ART CONVENTION

Aufgrund seiner kreativen Atmosphäre und aktiven Urban Art Szene hat sich Berlin zum Epizentrum der Tape Art Bewegung entwickelt und wir sind stolz darauf eine aktive und wichtige Rolle in dieser Bewegung zu spielen: Wir haben 2016 die Tape Art Convention organisiert und kuratiert – eine Gruppenausstellung mit 9 Künstlern und Kollektiven. Es war das erste Mal, dass verschiedene Stile und Herangehensweisen von Tape Art aus der ganzen Welt an einem Ort vereint wurden. Seitdem hat sich die Tape Art Convention zu einer wachsenden Platform und einem Netzwerk für Tape Artist aus der ganzen Welt entwickelt. Die Tape Art Convention ist nicht nur für die Künstler einzigartig, sondern die Gäste sind auch dazu eingeladen mit den Künstlern in Kontakt zu treten und bei Kreativ-Clashs, Workshops und Live-Performances teilzuhaben.

TAPE ART AROUND THE WORLD

Wir verstehen uns als „Tape Art-Botschafter“. Klebeband kann in fast jedem Haushalt auf der Welt gefunden werden. Was die Wenigsten wissen : Das ist alles was nötig ist, um kreativ zu werden!

Man braucht weder teure Farben, noch teure Leinwände – nur herkömmliches Klebeband. Wir sind von diesem Open Source Ansatz Kunst zu erschaffen fasziniert und versuchen diesen Gedanken mit dem Projekt „Tape Art Around the World“ auf unseren Reisen, in die kulturell unterschiedlichsten Regionen, in die Welt zu tragen. Bisher konnten wir dies in Ägypten, Bulgarien, China, Estland, Großbritannien, Indien, Jerusalem, Kambodscha, Katar, Montenegro, Namibia, in den palästinensischen Gebieten, Peru Portugal, Russland, Saudi Arabien, USA, Schweden, Vietnam und Weißrussland tun.

TAPE ART ACADEMY

2017 haben wir die Tape Art Academy ins Leben gerufen. Hier werden regelmäßig Workshops mit etablierten Künstlern gehalten. Bisher haben wir in Berlin, Hamburg und Köln Workshops gegeben. Bei Interesse, schreib uns einfach auf www.tapeartacademy.com

TAPE ART FROM BERLIN KREUZBERG

We are Tape That – an artist collective based in Berlin. We create our artworks solely out of adhesives tapes. Our works range from plain minimalistic black and white murals to complex and colorful light- and video installations. These can be found in exhibitions, galleries, abandoned buildings, clubs, showrooms, pop-up stores, offices, events or on fair stands and facades. Each of our artworks is unique as we are inspired by and incorporate the spatial circumstances. We are fascinated by the idea to create art out of an everyday object that most people take for granted. Although based in Berlin, we regularly travel the world to raise awareness of tape art and establish it as an acknowledged form of art.

WHAT IS TAPE ART?

As the term suggests, Tape Art can be considered an art that is made out of any kind of adhesive tape. While this up and coming art form has grown rapidly over the last 10 years, its beginning cannot unequivocally be pinpointed down in time: Even though adhesives tapes have long been used in the arts for various purposes, they were usually not the predominant means of expression, but rather a technical aid. The emancipation to an autonomous and self-sufficient medium to create art with, is most likely to be found in and also intertwined with the beginning of the urban art movement. Its removable and temporary nature makes it a popular medium to use on any surface it sticks to. This unique feature makes it possible to easily integrate the local surroundings, especially in a temporary fashion. In the same way as there are lots of various types of adhesives materials, the approaches to create tape art with them are very diverse as well. The most commonly used materials are cloth or duct tapes, paper tapes, packaging tapes or plastic tapes and foils. Depending on the specific features of the individual materials, certain styles developed over time that cover a large spectrum from abstract to realistic art.

Our artistic endeavors range from our free artworks and installations to commissioned projects and intercultural art exchanges as well as workshops. We produce a wide spectrum of free artworks that includes regular taped paintings, room installations and sculptures, murals or facades and light installations. Besides live tape art performances at events and fairs, our commissioned projects also consist of location styling and interior design for event locations, fair stands and offices. In addition, we offer tape art workshops and teambuilding activities for different companies. To spread tape art around the world, we showcase our artworks internationally and hold workshops for the public, often times in cooperation with the German foreign ministry or Goethe-Institutes

TAPE ART ACADEMY

To spread our Tape Art and to educate whoever might be interested in this subject, we founded the Tape Art Academy in 2017. The Tape Art Academy regularly hosts hands-on Tape Art workshops featuring many well-known Tape Artists. To date we held several workshops in Berlin, Hamburg and Cologne, but more cities are coming soon (stay tuned Munich). If you are interested in joining a workshop, hit us up on the contact form of the Tape Art Academy website.

TAPE ART CONVENTION

Due to its creative environment and large urban art scene, Berlin has evolved to the epicenter of tape art and we are proud to play an important and active role in this movement: We organize and curate the Tape Art Convention, which was first held in 2016 as a group exhibition of 9 artists and collectives. It was the first big tape art exhibition that included different approaches to tape as a creative medium from all over the world, featuring artists from e.g. London, Melbourne and Philadelphia. Since then it has grown to a platform and network for lots of tape artists and we aim to support the creative exchange and strengthen the tape art scene. Also, the concept of the Tape Art Convention exceeds a standard group exhibitions since it focuses on showcasing tape art in its various approaches and visitors are encouraged to get in direct contact with the artists in creative clashes, workshops and live tapings.

TAPE ART AROUND THE WORLD

We consider ourselves to be tape art ambassadors: Adhesive tapes are to be found almost in every household all over the world – that is all you need to get creative and start doing tape art! No expensive paints or canvases are necessary and you can start instantly. We are fascinated by this open source approach to create art and started the “Tape Art around the World” project: By traveling to lots of culturally different places in the world on every continent, we take the opportunity to plant a creative seed and spread tape art everywhere. So far, we have been able to do so in Belarus, Bulgaria, Cambodia, China, Egypt, England, Estonia, India, Jerusalem, Montenegro, Namibia, Palestine, Peru, Portugal, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Sweden, Vietnam, the United States and Qatar.

Most of the times, we give workshops to the local community in cultural institutions, art spaces or universities. In addition, we often organize exhibitions that feature the participants’ artworks to present the creations to a broader audience. Moreover, we do live performances, installations in public spaces, artists talks and collaborations with local artists. Teaching tape art to people from different social and cultural backgrounds is one of the most rewarding aspects of our work. Not only can we share our creative process with others, but also draw inspirations from the experiences and insights we gain by interacting with the people and traveling different places.